Critical cinema culture thriving in Calgary.


Bringing people together to experience significant cinema. 


Regardless of shifting priorities and forces, our core values remain strong and intact. Acknowledging the tensions and interplay between these core values, we will: 

  • Curate Purposefully 
  • Create and Engage a Filmgoing Community  
  • Be Sustainable and Responsible 


Board Members

Gary Burns is an internationally recognized writer and director of feature films. His films include The Suburbanators, Kitchen Party, waydowntown, A Problem with Fear, Radiant City, and most recently The Future Is Now!  Gary is a founding member of the Calgary Cinematheque.

Brennan Tilley holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree in Business Process Management. He serves as chair of our Programming Committee. Previous board service includes executive roles at the Calgary Underground Film Festival and ArtCity. He can count to ten (diez) in Spanish with assistance on only eight (ocho) of the numbers. Contrary to rumours, he has not recently watched his VHS copy of the Chevy Chase classic Funny Farm.

Secretary and Interim Treasurer
Aaron Grach is a lawyer and the current chair of our Governance Committee and our Finance Committee. Erstwhile U of C English masters student, fiction editor for filling Station magazine, and drawing student at ACAD, he remains a perpetual neophyte to the arts, including to film.

Donna Brunsdale is an artist, filmmaker, and teacher. She has exhibited her films and art in galleries and festivals across Canada and abroad. She has taught art and film at several post-secondary institutions and has worked on others' films in several capacities including acting. She lives in Calgary.

Dale Turri is a genuine arts freak with a long history of involvement with the Calgary arts scene. She is a business development consultant specializing in sponsorship and fundraising. She currently serves on the boards of The Magnetic North Theatre Festival, Ghost River Theatre, and Downstage Theatre. She attends an arts event, on average, 3 times a week.

Trevor Smith is an avid cinephile and returning original board member. As a working filmmaker, art director in the local industry, and the previous Director of Programming for the Calgary International Film Festival, Trevor passionately endorses the mandate of all cinematheques to provide essential, often overlooked, and challenging masterworks to metro film cultures. Calgary is no exception.

Past Board Members

Brendan Kredell, Jeremy Dietz, Barbara Sutherland, Justin Waddell, Bronwyn Henry, Charles Tepperman, Jolie Bird, Mark Hamilton, Jim Ellis, Trish Leadbeater, Dave Christensen, Jamie Wood, Kevin Allen

Questions about this page? Contact